New members sworn in to Burlington School Board

December 01, 2023

Newly elected and re-elected members of the Burlington School Board were sworn into office Monday, Nov. 28, during the first meeting of their four-year term.

Newcomers Tammy Anderson and William Vance join incumbents Anika McVay and Deborah Hatteberg as they start the term for which they were elected.

Anderson and Vance take the seats that until Nov. 28 were held by board members Joel Sieren and Nancy Hoelzen, both of whom opted not to seek re-election.

The newly seated board elected Darven Kendell as board president, a position previously held by Hatteberg, and Anika McVay as vice president, a role previously held by Kendell.

The seats held by Kendell, Christi Burghoffer and Bryan Bross will be up for election in 2025.

School board election results

Deborah Hatteberg1,670
Anika McVay1,657
Tammy Anderson1,242
William Vance1,047
Leroy Schatz1,020
Kathy Rashid939
Bradley Bourn683

Committee assignments are as follows:

  • Curriculum Committee: Anderson, Bross and Burghoffer Policy Committee: Kendell, McVay and Vance
  • Finance Committee: Bross, Hatteberg and Vance Facilities Committee: Hatteberg, Bross and Kendell
  • School Improvement Advisory Committee: Anderson, Burghoffer and McVay

Upcoming board meeting dates are:

  • Dec. 11
  • Jan. 8 & 22
  • Feb. 5 & 26
  • March 25
  • April 8 & 22
  • May 6 & 20
  • June 24
  • July 22
  • Aug. 12 & 26
  • Sept. 9 & 23
  • Oct. 14 & 28
  • Nov. 11 & 25

Dates are subject to change. Board meetings are held at 6 p.m. in the boardroom at the Administration Building, 1429 West Ave.

Meetings are open to the public.

To tune into meetings online, visit the Burlington Community School District’s YouTube channel.

For meeting agendas and minutes, visit